Johannes Brahms
Johannes Brahms

The Three "B"s (III) – Johannes Brahms (d. 4/3/1897) #1713

…youthful masterpieces inspired by Bach, his last compositions, and other surprises.

Hour 1

BRAHMSPrelude & Fugue in g, WoO 10 –Peter Sykes (1990 Nordlie/1st United Methodist Church, Sioux Falls, SD) Titanic 181

BRAHMSChorale Prelude & Fugue on O Traurigheit, o Herzeleid, WoO 7 –Robert Bates (1996 Bond/Holy Rosary Catholic Church, Portland, OR) Pro Organo 7060

BRAHMS:  Chorale-preludes, O Gott, du frommer Gott (No. 7) & Herzlich tut mich erfreuen(No. 4), fr Op. 122 —Georges Athanasiades (1989 Jann/Waldsassen Basilica, Germany) Tudor 790

BRAHMSPassacaglia (iv.), fr Symphony No. 4 in e, Op. 98 --Daniel Stipe (1949 Aeolian-Skinner/St. Stephen’s Episcopal Church, Richmond, VA) Pipedreams Archive (r. 11/18/14)

BRAHMSChorale-prelude, Herzliebster Jesu, Op. 122, no. 2 –Virgil Fox (Hammond Castle/Gloucester, MA) OrganArts 4002

BRAHMS (trans. Juon):  Allegro appassionato (ii.), fr Piano Concerto No. 2 in B-flat, Op. 83 –Isabelle & Florence Lafitte, piano; Olivier Vernet & Cédric Meckler (1873 Cavaillé-Coll/Cathedral of St. Maurice, Angers, France) Ligia Digital 0104261-13

Hour 2

BRAHMSChorale-preludes, Schmücke dich, o liebe Seele (No. 5) and Mein Jesu, der du mich (No. 1), fr Op. 122 –Kevin Bowyer (1965 Marcussen/St. Knud’s Church, Odense, Denmark) Nimbus 5262

BRAHMS (trans. Lemare):  Academic Festival Overture, Op. 80 –Robert Quinney 1922-32 Willis/Westminster Cathedral, London) Signum 0892

BRAHMSUn poco allegretto e grazioso (iii.), fr Symphony No. 1 in c, Op. 68 –Thomas Weisflog & Scott Kumer (1928 Kimball+/St. Thomas the Apostle Catholic Church, Chicago, IL) Meridian 84372

BRAHMS:  Chorale-preludes, Herzlich tut mich verlangen, Op. 122, nos. 9/10 –Jacques van Oortmerssen (1906 Setterquist/Kristine Church, Falun, Sweden) BIS 479

BRAHMS (trans. Conte):  Variations on a Theme of Haydn, Op. 56 –Peter Richard Conte (Wanamaker Organ/Macy’s Department Store, Philadelphia, PA) Gothic 92472

BRAHMSChorale-prelude, O Welt, ich muss dich lassen, Op. 122, no. 11 –Robert Parkins (1976 Flentrop/Duke University Chapel, Durham, NC) Naxos 8.550824